Domestic Violence – Gerald R Stahl is West Michigan Domestic Violence Defense Lawyer
What is Domestic Violence?
The United State Justice Department defines Domestic Violence as “a pattern of abusive behavior in any relationship that is used by one partner to gain or maintain power and control over another intimate partner. Domestic violence can be physical, sexual, emotional, economic, or psychological actions or threats of actions that influence another person. This includes any behaviors that intimidate, manipulate, humiliate, isolate, frighten, terrorize, coerce, threaten, blame, hurt, injure, or wound someone.”
Due to public awareness, caused in part by high profile cases, many state governments, including Michigan, have increase penalties for those found guilty in domestic violence crimes.
First Offense Domestic Violence in Michigan
The first time you are found guilty of a domestic charge involving violence expect harsh ramifications. If you or a loved one is charged with domestic violence, a number of things need to be considered. You can be ordered by the court to stay away from your home as well as the victim. Many courts order counseling. While some courts are different than others, coupled with the unique facts of each case, probation is the normal sentence. A first offense domestic violence charge carries with it the possibility of up to 93 days incarceration. Additionally, any plea will result in fines, costs, probation, classes, and abstention from alcohol and drugs.
Although a 1st offense domestic violence charge is a frightening experience for most, the Michigan legislature does include a deferral program for first time domestic violence offenders. This deferral allows one to plead guilty and at the end your case the charge is dismissed like it never happened. This deferral is called 769.4a.
Second Offense Domestic Violence
The punishment for a second offense is enhanced to one year of jail and additional fines and costs. The chances of jail greatly increase with a second offense domestic violence.
Third Offense Domestic Violence mandates a Felony Charge in Michigan
A felony domestic violence charge can be charged if you have 2 previous convictions. Under the felony statute, there is a possibility of up to 2 years in prison with fines and costs up to $2,500.00.
If Someone You Know Has Been Charged in A Violent Domestic Incident, “Better Call Stahl”
Gerald R Stahl is a criminal defense lawyer with over 31 years of experience. He routinely represents people charged with Domestic Violence in all Western Michigan Courts, including Kent, Ottawa, Allegan, Barry and Newaygo County. Gerald R Stahl is conveniently located in Grand Rapids on East Beltline near Knapp’s Corner and the 63rd District Court.
- Criminal Defense
- Attacks on Evidence
- Criminal Sexual Conduct
- Domestic Violence
- Drug Issues
- Firearm Statutes in Michigan
- Homicide/Murder Defense in Michigan
- Michigan Driving Issues
- Terms & Topics